7 Steps to become a South Carolina Bail Bondsman/runner
In order to become a licensed South Carolina bail bondsman/runner an individual must meet the SC state mandated requirements.
If a prospective South Carolina bail bondsman/runner meets the preceding requirements they may enroll in one of the state mandated 30hr pre-licensing bail bondsman/runner class. Upon the completion of the course the instructor will provide the student a certificate of completion.
Enroll in the South Carolina required series 19-16 pre-licensing examination offered by PSI. The test will cost $45. This examination will consist of 60 questions, and must be completed in 65 minutes.
Complete the bail bondsman/runner application provided by the South Carolina Department of Insurance.
Congratulations, wait for your application to be processed by the South Carolina Department of Insurance! The SCDOI will mail the application approval or denial to the mailing address provided via application.
Upon receiving an approved license from the SCDOI an individual is deemed a licensed bail bondsman. The certified license must now be clocked in each county the bail bondsman wishes to conduct business. A $150 filing fee will be assessed in the home county to clock a certified license, and any other county the bondsman wishes to conduct business will assess a $100 filing fee to clock a certified license. A professional bondsman must place cash security with the home county clerk of court not to be less than $10,000. This cash deposit will allow a professional bondsman to post any one bond up to $5,000, and a total of all bonds (total liability allowable) of $40,000. A surety bondsman will present the clerk of court a power of attorney provided by the license holders insurance company. This power of attorney allows a surety bondsman to conduct business in behalf of the insurer up to the amount specified.
Now that you are a licensed bail bondsman in South Carolina you must keep your license in good standing. South Carolina has required 6 hours of continuing education to be completed annually in the past; however, this has been changed to 8 hours annually through recent legislation. All bail bondsman licenses expire June 30 of the given year. Therefore, 8 hours of continuing education must be completed prior to June 30 annually, and proof of completion submitted to the SCDOI. The South Carolina Bail Agents Association hosts multiple continuing education classes throughout the year. In addition to continuing education all bail bondsman must provide fingerprints annually by registering at.
*Note these steps are necessary only to become a bondsman/runner in South Carolina, These steps are to be used for reference only, SC legislation is ever-changing, and it is best to verify proper state procedure through the states governing body.
4 Types of Bail Bondsman in South Carolina
A South Carolina bail bondsman is a designated agent licensed by the South Carolina Department of Insurance whom pledges consideration to the state of South Carolina in order to ensure the successful completion of a criminal defendants appearance to all court dates required by the court of competent jurisdiction pending the resolution of a criminal accusation. The state of South Carolina designates four types of bail bondsman as outlined in Chapter 38 Subsection 53 of the South Carolina Code of Laws. These types of bondsman will be listed as follows:
Donald F. Mescia III